Recycle Bin

Specifies how you want to delete files and directories.

Dialog Box Options

Move all deleted files and directories to the Recycle Bin
All files and directories you delete are sent to the Recycle Bin. They are not removed from your hard disk until you empty the Recycle Bin or until their total size exceeds the maximum size of the Recycle Bin (usually 10% of the drive size). Deleting with this option may be faster (files and directories are not deleted, but only moved to another location on the same drive).

Sally delete confirmations will be ignored. To set delete confirmations and the maximum size of the Recycle Bin, open Properties from the right-click context menu of the Recycle Bin icon on your desktop.

Remove files and directories immediately when deleted
Files and directories are removed from your disk as soon as you delete them. After the delete operation, they may be beyond recovery. However, you can still use an undelete utility to try to recover deleted files, e.g. the Undelete plugin. If you want to delete files irreversibly, you need to use a shredding (wiping) utility.
Move following files to the Recycle Bin, delete others permanently
All files and directories matching specified file masks are sent to the Recycle Bin. All others are removed from your disk immediately. See previous two options for details.

From the Sally manual (GPL-2.0-or-later), © 1997-2023 Open Salamander Authors; © 2025-2026 Elias Bachaalany. Source: manual source (zip) · original page in the Sally repository