Confirmations

Specifies whether confirmation messages are shown.

Dialog Box Options

File or directory delete
Clear this check box if you don't want to receive a confirmation message before deleting files.
Non-empty directory delete
Clear this check box if you don't want to receive a confirmation message before deleting a non-empty directory. When you delete a directory, all the files and directories within it are deleted.
File overwrite
Clear this check box if you don't want to receive a confirmation message before replacing a file. It is recommended that you leave this option selected so that you don't inadvertently write over files you want to keep.
System or hidden file delete
Clear this check box if you don't want to receive a confirmation message before deleting system and hidden files.
System or hidden directory delete
Clear this check box if you don't want to receive a confirmation message before deleting system and hidden directories.
System or hidden file overwrite
Clear this check box if you don't want to receive a confirmation message before replacing system and hidden files.
Directories merge
Clear this check box if you don't want to receive a confirmation message before merging a copied or moved directory with an existing directory in the target location.
NTFS compress or uncompress
Clear this check box if you don't want to receive a confirmation message before compressing or uncompressing files on an NTFS drive.
NTFS encrypt or decrypt
Clear this check box if you don't want to receive a confirmation message before encrypting or decrypting files on an NTFS drive.
Drag and Drop operations
When checked, all drag-and-drop operations must be confirmed in the context menu shown before the operation is performed.
User Menu: always show dialog with names to compare
This applies to User Menu commands that use variables for comparing files or directories (First File to Compare, Second File to Compare, etc.). When checked, the dialog with names to compare is displayed even if both names were specified in the panel. Otherwise, this dialog is displayed only if you have to specify at least one name for comparison.
Compare Directories: ignored differences of exactly 1 or 2 hours
When checked and the Compare Directories command detects pairs of files with time differences of exactly one or two hours, and these differences should be ignored, it ignores them, but it also shows a note about how many pairs of files have such time differences. Otherwise, this note is not displayed. See Compare Directories: ignore time differences of exactly one or two hours check box in Configuration/General.
Compare Directories: found differences of exactly 1 or 2 hours
When checked and the Compare Directories command detects pairs of files with time differences of exactly one or two hours, and these differences should not be ignored, it informs you that you can change settings to ignore them (to bypass DST related file time shifts). Otherwise, this hint is not displayed. See Compare Directories: ignore time differences of exactly one or two hours check box in Configuration/General.
Archive is about to close... (only if editing files from archive)
Clear this check box if you don't want to receive a confirmation message before closing an archive from which files were edited or opened (the files may be changed).
Do you want to close Find?
Clear this check box if you don't want to receive a confirmation message before closing Find window (see Finding Files and Directories).
Do you want to stop searching?
Clear this check box if you don't want to receive a confirmation message before stopping a search in the Find window (see Finding Files and Directories).
Do you want to create target path?
Clear this check box if you don't want to receive a confirmation message before creating a specified target path that does not yet exist in a Copy/Move operation.
Do you want to turn on Always on Top?
Clear this check box if you don't want to receive a confirmation message before turning on Always on Top (see Setting Window Always on Top).
Do you want to close Sally?
Clear this check box if you don't want to receive a confirmation message before closing Sally application.
Do you want to Email selected files?
Clear this check box if you don't want to receive a confirmation message before sending selected files by email (see Emailing Files).
Do you want to add files into existing archive?
Clear this check box if you don't want to receive a confirmation message before adding files to an existing archive. When checked, you can choose whether to add files to the existing archive or create a new archive (overwriting the existing archive).
The directory doesn't exist. Do you want to create it?
Clear this check box if you don't want to receive a confirmation message before creating a directory in which an operation should be performed, but which does not yet exist. This happens when creating a directory structure in the Create Directory command (e.g. creating C:\a\b if C:\a does not exist).

From the Sally manual (GPL-2.0-or-later), © 1997-2023 Open Salamander Authors; © 2025-2026 Elias Bachaalany. Source: manual source (zip) · original page in the Sally repository