Deleting Files and Directories
When you delete a directory, all of its subdirectories and files are deleted.
To delete a file or directory:
- Select the files and directories you want to delete.
- Choose the Delete command:
Menu: Files/Delete... Context menu: Right-click selected files and directories and choose Delete. Shortcut key: F8 or Delete Toolbar: Choose the Delete button on the Top, Middle, or Bottom toolbar.
Files and directories may either be removed from your disk immediately when you delete them or be stored in the Recycle Bin. See Configuration/Recycle Bin.
If you use the F8 or Delete key with the Shift modifier, you reverse the use of the Recycle Bin (if the Delete key does not send files to the Recycle Bin, Shift+Delete does, and vice versa).
Remarks
On drives formatted to use the Windows NT file system (NTFS), you must have permission to delete a file or directory.
See Also
From the Sally manual (GPL-2.0-or-later), © 1997-2023 Open Salamander Authors; © 2025-2026 Elias Bachaalany. Source: manual source (zip) · original page in the Sally repository