Advanced

Allows you to change advanced options in the FTP Client plugin.

Options

Size limit for memory cache
Specify the size limit for the memory cache in kilobytes. The memory cache is used to store listings (lists of files and directories) for paths you have already visited on FTP servers. See Use cache for viewed files and lists of files and directories on server (faster browsing) in Configuration/Defaults for details.
Timeout for network actions
Set the timeout for waiting for a response from the FTP server, resolving a host name to an IP address, and other network actions.
Delay between connect retries and Number of connect retries
If the connection to the FTP server is lost (for example, because of a network failure) during an operation, the plugin tries to reconnect to the server and finish the operation. Specify how long to wait before the next connection attempt and the maximum number of connection attempts (when the limit is reached, an error is reported).
Cancel data connection if it is idle for XXX seconds
The FTP server transfers data to or from the FTP client over a data connection. Sometimes (for example, because of a network failure) data is no longer transferred over this connection, but no error is reported to the FTP client. The plugin detects these failures by monitoring the data connection. If it remains idle (with no transfer) longer than the specified time, the plugin closes the connection to the FTP server and tries to reconnect and finish the operation with a fresh connection.
Try to resume copying only if already copied part of file is at least XXX bytes and Number of bytes to verify (at end of file) when resuming copying from server
If the connection to the FTP server is lost (e.g. due to some network failure) during copying of a file to or from the server, the plugin tries to reconnect to the server and resume copying (if it is specified in the configuration, see Configuration/Operations 1 and Configuration/Operations 2). When resuming, there is always some potential risk that the file will not be resumed correctly (because of an error in server or client software). To reduce this risk, the plugin does not resume copying if the already copied part of the file is smaller than the specified limit (it starts copying the whole file in such cases). Moreover, when copying from the server to the local machine (or network), the plugin verifies the specified number of bytes at the end of the already copied part of the file (it downloads the end part of the file again to check whether the download will be resumed correctly). If this verification fails, the plugin offers you to cut off the end of already copied part of the file and try to resume copying again.

From the Sally manual (GPL-2.0-or-later), © 1997-2023 Open Salamander Authors; © 2025-2026 Elias Bachaalany. Source: manual source (zip) · original page in the Sally repository