Move/Rename
Use this dialog box to move selected files and directories from the source panel
into the destination directory.
Dialog Box Options
- Move to
- Contains the path to the destination directory. It can be
full or relative disk path,
archive path, or
plugin file system path. This area is
initialized with the path in the target panel, but you can change it to any
other directory (e.g. you can pack files into an archive even if the archive is
not opened in the target panel). You can use the operation
mask to rename processed files. Use the drop-down list to select a
previously used destination directory.
- Browse Menu (click the button behind the Move to field)
- Use the Browse item to display the Browse dialog box, where you can
select the destination directory. Use the Left/Right Panel Path
item to set the destination directory to the directory currently opened in the left/right panel.
You can also set the destination directory to any Hot Path by using the Hot Paths items on
this menu.
- Options
- Use this button to show or hide operation options. See these options below.
For faster access, you can use shortcut keys even when the options
are hidden. For example, use Alt+S to show the options and turn on Speed limit (note
that shortcut keys for options are underlined when you press the Alt key). Use the button
drop-down menu to save the current options as defaults (or to reset options and defaults).
The defaults will be used the next time you open this dialog box.
- Wait until all other Copy/Move operations are finished
- When checked, the operation is paused until all previous Copy/Move operations
are finished (or canceled). Otherwise, the operation starts immediately.
Use this option to process operations in a simple queue.
It is recommended to use this option if source or destination directories of
operations are on the same disk. If you start all operations simultaneously, the disk
must seek among all currently read and written files, which slows down all
operations.
- Overwrite older and skip other existing files without asking
- When checked, all older existing files will be overwritten
and all other existing files will be skipped (not overwritten) without any prompt.
Otherwise you will get the Overwrite prompt, where you can decide whether to
overwrite the file or skip it (see File overwrite in
Configuration/Confirmations).
Use this option as a simple synchronization of two directories: copy only newer
and non-existing files.
- Speed limit
- When checked, files will be moved with the specified speed limit. Set the speed
limit in bytes, kilobytes, megabytes, or gigabytes per second (B/s, KB/s, MB/s, or
GB/s). Otherwise, files will be moved without speed limit.
- Preserve Archive, Compressed, and Encrypted attributes
- When checked, the target files and directories will have the same
set of Archive, Compressed, and Encrypted attributes as the source
files and directories. Otherwise attributes of files and directories moved
within a single drive (they are just renamed) are not changed and
Archive attribute will be added and Compressed and Encrypted attributes will
be inherited from the destination directory for all other copied or moved files
and directories (except when copying Encrypted files and directories, Encrypted
attribute will be kept, so they cannot inherit Compressed attribute, see
Compressing and Encrypting of Files and
Directories for details).
- Preserve owners and permissions (not inherited) on NTFS drives
- When checked, owners and permissions (not inherited) are copied from source
to destination files and directories on NTFS drives. Otherwise owners and permissions of
files and directories moved within a single drive (they are just renamed) are
not changed and for all other files and directories the default owners and permissions
(system sets them when file or directory is created) are used.
- Preserve dates and times of directories
- When checked, dates and times of directories are copied from source
to destination directories. Otherwise dates and times are not set on directories
(current time is used).
- Only files (prevent creating of empty directories)
- When checked, destination directories are created only if they will contain
some files. Otherwise all source directories are copied or moved to destination
directories.
- Files named
- When checked, only files matching the specified file
mask are copied or moved. Otherwise this option is ignored.
- Advanced
- Click this button to display the Advanced Options
dialog box. You can set advanced options for copied or moved files. For example,
you can process only files modified within one hour (files not older than one hour). See
Only files (prevent creating of empty directories) option above to get rid of
empty directories.
See Also
Moving or Renaming Files and Directories