Finding Files and Directories
You can search for files and directories using various criteria such as name, size,
date & time, attributes, and containing text. After the search, you can work
with the found files and directories (view, edit, copy, move, delete them, and so on).
To search for files and directories:
- In the panel, open the directory in which you want to start the search.
- Open the Find dialog box:
| Menu: | Commands/Find Files and Directories... |
| Shortcut key: | Alt+F7 or Ctrl+F |
| Toolbar: | Choose the Find Files and Directories
button on the Top, Middle, or Bottom toolbar. |
- In the Named box, type the name of the file or directory you want to find. Use
file masks to search for a group of
files or directories with similar names or extensions. Important: when you specify a
mask without an asterisk (*), question mark (?), or dot (.), Sally finds all files
and directories whose names contain that mask (for example, when you specify "dog", you
will find "dogs.txt", "hotdog.jpg", and so on). You can prevent this by adding a dot (.)
to the end of the mask (for example, when you specify "dog.", you will find only "dog").
- Specify the directories from which you want to start the search in the Look in
box. This box is preset to the current directory in the panel. Use the Add
button to browse for another directory and add it to the Look in box, or
to add all local or network drives to this box.
- Select the Search subdirectories box if you also want to search in the subdirectories
of the directories specified in the Look in box.
- If you are searching for files containing some text, select the Search file content
box and specify the search text in the Containing field.
See the Find dialog box for details on search options.
- If you need to specify additional criteria for file size, attributes, or date & time,
click the Advanced button to open the Advanced Options
dialog box.
- You may want to ignore some directories (exclude them from the search), for example,
System Volume Information in root directories or directories that contain your temporary files.
Specify such directories in the Ignore Directory
List dialog box. Open it from the Options/Ignore Directory List menu item
in the Find dialog box (Ctrl+G).
- All errors that occur during the search, as well as all ignored directories, are added
to the Find Log dialog box. Select the Show Error Messages
After Finding item on the Options menu if you want to see this log when
the search finishes and an error occurs. Use the Show Find Log command (Ctrl+L)
from the Commands menu or the Find Log button on the right side of the
Found Items list view header to show this log manually.
- Choose the Find Now button to start searching.
Remarks
Sally displays the progress of the search. You can work with
Sally while the search continues in the background. You can open
another Find dialog box and begin a new search simultaneously.
Found files and directories are displayed in the Found Items list view.
Click the column headers to sort this list by name, size, path, or time. You can also
use sort commands on the View menu.
After files and directories are found, you can work with them. Go to the Found Items
list view and use the commands on the Files menu:
- Open (the Enter key): open the focused file or directory,
- Open All Selected (the Shift+Enter key): open all selected files and directories,
- Focus (the Space key): focus the focused file or directory in the active panel
(and switch to this panel),
- Hide (the Ctrl+H key): hide selected files or directories from the Found Items list view,
- Hide Duplicate Names (the Ctrl+Shift+H key): some items can be found several times
(see the Append to Found Items command below), hide redundant items from the Found Items list view,
- View (the F3 key), View With (the Ctrl+Shift+F3 key), Alternate View (the Alt+F3 key): view
the focused file,
- Edit (the F4 key) and Edit With (the Ctrl+Shift+F4 key): edit the focused file,
- Delete (the F8 or Delete key): delete (send to the Recycle Bin) selected files and directories,
- User Menu (the F9 key): open the User Menu for selected
files and directories,
- Properties (the Alt+Enter key): open the Properties dialog box for selected
files and directories.
You can use drag and drop to copy or move found files and directories
from the Found Items list view to any destination. Another option is to use
the clipboard: you can Cut or Copy (see the Edit menu) found files and directories from the Found
Items list view to the clipboard and later paste them where needed.
If you need to copy the name of a found file or directory, use one of the following
commands from the Edit menu:
- Copy Path + Name as Text (the Alt+Insert key): copy a full path to a focused file or
directory to the clipboard,
- Copy Name as Text (the Alt+Shift+Insert key): copy a focused file or directory name to
the clipboard,
- Copy Path as Text (the Ctrl+Alt+Insert key): copy a focused file or directory path to
the clipboard,
- Copy UNC Path + Name as Text (the Ctrl+Shift+Insert key): copy a UNC path to a focused
file or directory to the clipboard.
In some special situations, it is useful to search within already
found files (values in the Named and Look in boxes are ignored).
Use the Refine - Intersect with Found Items (the Ctrl+I key) command from
the Commands menu or from the drop-down menu on the Find Now button to keep only found
files and directories that meet the criteria given in the Find dialog box.
For example, you can find all files containing the word "car" (using the Find Now command)
and then refine the found files to keep only files containing the word "John" (using the
Refine - Intersect with Found Items command), so you get all files containing
both words. Similarly, you can use the Refine - Subtract from Found Items (the Ctrl+S key)
command to hide found files and directories that meet the criteria given in the Find
dialog box. In the previous example, the result would be all files containing "car"
but not containing "John".
Another special command is Append to Found Items (the Ctrl+W key) on the Commands menu
or in the drop-down menu on the Find Now button. Unlike the Find Now command, it does
not clear the Found Items list view before searching. It lets you merge search results
easily. The same file or directory may appear more than once. Use the Hide Duplicate
Names command to remove such redundant items.
Duplicate files can be found in the Find dialog box. See
Finding Duplicate Files for details.
You can save the current settings in the Find dialog box by using the Add Current (Ctrl+N)
command on the Options menu. It opens the Settings Manager
dialog box. You can use these settings next time by choosing the name on the Options
menu. To view or remove these settings, use the Manage (Ctrl+M) command on the
Options menu.
See Also
Find dialog box
Advanced Options dialog box
Ignore Directory List dialog box
Find Log dialog box
Finding Duplicate Files
Settings Manager dialog box
Group Policy Restrictions