Undelete Configuration
You can customize the Undelete plugin in this dialog box. See
Configuring Plugins
for general information about configuration.
Options
- Alternative temporary directory for viewing files
- Deleted files being viewed must first be recovered to a temporary directory
(usually located on the system disk, e.g., C:\). Since volumes containing deleted
files should not be written to, an alternative temporary directory located on a
different volume must be used when viewing deleted files on the system disk.
You will be asked automatically to specify the alternate directory the first
time it is needed.
- Always reuse previous cluster scan information on FAT
- The Undelete plugin also looks for directories in vacant clusters
of FAT volumes. If you use the Refresh command to analyze the volume again,
you can skip this scan because it usually takes a long time.
- Do not warn when undeleting to the same logical disk
- Select this option if you want to take the risk of overwriting parts
of deleted files and directories by recovering them to the same volume. It is possible
to damage even the same file you are recovering, so this option is
not recommended. See Introduction for details
on the principles of recovery.
- Do not warn before undeleting encrypted files to FAT or exFAT
- FAT and exFAT volumes do not support encrypted files, so it is not possible to fully recover
NTFS encrypted files to them. However, it is possible to store the encrypted
files in a raw (backup) format. See
Restoring Encrypted Files from Backup
for details on further processing of these files.