Connect to FTP Server
Use this dialog to open a new connection to an FTP server. You can save your favorite
FTP servers as FTP bookmarks and use those bookmarks to access the servers quickly.
Options
- List of FTP Bookmarks
- Contains the list of your FTP bookmarks. When you focus a bookmark, its parameters
are shown in the rest of the dialog (for example, Address, User Name, and Initial Path). If you
do not want to use a bookmark, focus the Quick Connect item (it is always the first item)
in this list. Right-click a bookmark (or use Shift+F10) to open the context
menu with available commands. Use drag&drop (or the Move Up/Down commands) to change
the order of bookmarks.
- Address
- Specify the FTP server address. It can be an IP address or a host name. Use the drop-down
list to select a previously used address. You can also enter a URL here (format
ftp://user:password@server:port/path); when the edit box loses focus, it is split into a user name, password,
server address, port number, and initial path.
- Initial path
- Specify the initial path on the FTP server. When you connect to this server, the FTP
client will try to change the working directory to this path. If you do not want to use it,
leave it empty.
- Anonymous login
- When checked, the FTP client will try to log in anonymously to the FTP server (user
anonymous; the password should be your email address, see Password for anonymous
connections in Configuration/General). Otherwise,
the FTP client will try to log in using your user name and password.
- User name, Password, Save password, and Unlock
- Specify your user name and password here. You can also leave one or both
of these edit boxes empty; the FTP client will ask you to enter the missing values if
the FTP server requires them during the login procedure. If you want to save
the password in the bookmark, check the Save password check box.
IMPORTANT: You should protect your saved passwords with the Master Password; otherwise,
they can be easily displayed in this dialog or decrypted by malicious software that
has infiltrated your computer, see
Using Password Manager
for more information about saved passwords and the related security risks.
The Unlock button is displayed when you need to enter the Master Password to access
the password. To clear an inaccessible password, use the Clear Password command from
the drop-down menu on the Unlock button. To show the password, hold Ctrl and right-click
the Password edit box.
- Advanced
- Use this button to open the Advanced
Options dialog box. A brief summary of the advanced options is shown in the box
next to the Advanced button for quick reference.
- New, Rename, and Remove
- Use these buttons to manage bookmarks. The New button allows you also to
copy parameters from the focused bookmark (duplicate bookmark).
- Connect
- Use this button to open a new connection to the FTP server (parameters of this
server are currently displayed in the dialog box). All changes in bookmarks will
be kept.
- Close
- Use this button to close this dialog box without connecting to any FTP server.
All changes to bookmarks are kept. If you want to discard changes made to bookmarks,
click the Cancel button.
See Also
Connecting to FTP Server